Cuomo doubles number under travel advisory

Cuomo doubles number under travel advisory

Many cities across America have seen an uptick in coronavirus cases. New York, New Jersey and Connecticut have all doubled the number of states included in a high transmission rate of coronavirus. There are now sixteen states under travel advisory. Anyone traveling from the following states must quarantine for fourteen days.

States include:

Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas,Utah

New York will calculate the risk of a state by an infection rate of 10 cases per 100,000 people, or if 10% of the population of the state tests positive for the virus. 

New jersey was first to announce this news this morning on Tuesday June 30th. Connecticut announced it shortly after and then Gov. Andrew Cuomo made the announcement.

“As an increasing number of states around the country fight significant community spread, New York is taking action to maintain the precious safety of its phased, data-driven reopening,” said Cuomo

Cuomo announced that Only 1% of COVID-19 tests came back positive on Monday in New York.

The tri-state area was hit hard with the coronavirus during the months of March and April, as things start to slow down the governor wants to make sure New York will continue to move forward in recovering from this pandemic.

Photo by: Kevin P. Coughlin / Office of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo)

Be in the know

receive BoroPark24’s news & updates on whatsapp

 Start Now

Sullivan County Asks That Everyone should Wear Masks
  • Jun 30 2020
  • |
  • 2:08 PM

Judge Defers Decision on Camps
  • Jun 30 2020
  • |
  • 12:40 PM